Skynet is stupider than anticipated…

So…. it’s been a while.

Lots of things have happened in the last 3 years.

But the most immediately aggravating thing is that I was peacefully chatting Tuesday in a Facebook group about upcoming Easter festivities and cascarones (Mexican confetti filled eggshells) and I made the innocent comment, made by every mother with more than 5 minutes on the job experience ever…

“oh yes absolutely not [throwing cascarones] inside. Otherwise I would have to burn my house down and rebuild.”

Because cascarones are full of confetti. And they’re eggshells. Using them inside would destroy our house (which already looks vaguely like a frat house exploded and then got coated in maple syrup and charcoal briquettes). As it is, our lawn ends up with brightly colored bits of eggshell discernible all summer long after the pitched battle that occurs on Easter Sunday afternoon. The neighborhood kids look forward to it all year.

But, according to Facebook, needing to cleanse my house with fire is in no way metaphorical or exaggerated language, the meaning of which their robots didn’t understand.

And honestly, I’m done. I’m now on hour 61 of what was identified as a.2 day ban. Apparently Skynet can’t do math any better than it can do metaphoric language. My first infraction was because I called Mrs. Frisby a mouse. Referring to a fictional book character’s species was hate speech. It’s gone downhill from there. Victorians, Vile Victorians has had to move to a Patreon because the Facebook robots keep flagging content as objectionable (it’s not). You can’t even have a human conversation complaining about the

It’s time to return to the blogs.

This entry was posted in GeekLady Forgot To Categorize This Post, Meta and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Skynet is stupider than anticipated…

  1. melaniebett2013 says:

    It’s been a long time since I visited this virtual space. But being here and seeing your cover photo up there makes me really happy. Yeah, maybe it’s time for blogs to make a resurgence.

  2. Foxfier says:

    :waves:

    I left earlier– I’ve never even been banned!– but agree with your conclusion.

    Good to see you again! … and yes, the only way those egg things could be worse would be if they added glitter.

Leave a comment