An Open Letter to Kraft

Dear Kraft:

I was very disturbed to read that you intend to change the recipe of your iconic Mac ‘n Cheese. Therefore I must regretfully inform you that, once you do, I will no longer be buying your product.

Let us be straight with one another. Pasta in a cheese sauce is not a complex item to make, and I am an excellent cook. I can make one pot mac ‘n cheese from scratch in only a little bit longer than it takes to make a box of Kraft dinner. I make spicy mac and cheese with spinach. I make welsh rabbit mac and cheese with mustard and Worchestershire and dark beer. I make fiesta mac and cheese loaded with pico de gallo. However, until today, your humble yet worthy box has always had a place in my pantry.

  • It is a easily obtainable comfort food. Many of my comfort foods are things my mother cooked from scratch, so they aren’t always easily available, but Kraft dinner, with it’s powdered cheese sauce and dayglo orange color, has been a staple easy comfort food my whole life and I can make it while half dead from the flu without setting my house on fire.
  • It is an excellent camping and hurricane staple, in large part due to the long shelf life provided by the preservatives that you’re removing. Here’s a hint from our prehistoric ancestors: preserving food is helpful for our survival.
  • It is easy enough that my six year old can make it for lunch or dinner and all I have to do is drain the pasta. And both my children will eat it. Do you understand the advantage this poses to modern, harried motherhood? Or do you just not care??

And now, thanks to the digital terrorism of ignorant fanatics and snobs who wouldn’t touch boxed mac ‘n cheese with a standard issue ten foot pole, you plan to deprive your product of Every. Single. Selling Point.

You aren’t making your product more healthy. You are deliberately decreasing its shelf life. You are depriving it of its signature appearance. Why on earth do you think this is a viable business move?

Sincerely yours,

Rebecca Salazar

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to An Open Letter to Kraft

  1. Foxfier says:

    Reblogged this on Head Noises and commented:
    Less politely: What are they, INSANE?

  2. kamas716 says:

    I believe the Food Babe could stand a chemistry class or four. Just because something is a derivative of something doesn’t mean it’s unhealthy. H2O is a necessary component of life and we need to drink lots of it to remain healthy. H2O2 will kill you if you drink it. One little itty bitty difference in the molecule has a very drastic difference in how we process it.

    • Foxfier says:

      From poking around a little, it looks like a lot of folks have pointed that out.

      Her response is that they are lackeys of the “processed food lobby.”

      *eye roll*

  3. morrigan508 says:

    I’ve been living under a rock I guess, I hadn’t heard of this. DUMB ASS MOVE!

  4. Melanie says:

    I’ve been using Annie’s Mac-n-cheese for years and they use neither artificial dyes or preservatives and yet they are shelf stable and one variety even has the orange color. So is Kraft they actually changing the color or are they switching to a natural coloring like the annatto that Annie’s uses? How much less of a shelf life does Annie’s have compared to Kraft? I want to know the numbers before I get worked up about this change.

    • GeekLady says:

      I tried Annie’s once waaay back in the time between getting my job in Houston and getting married, and I really disliked it. I’m not sure what the shelf life difference is, but we roughly go through a dozen boxes of mac n cheese in 12-18 months and there are never any issues, not even the little bugs that spawn in pasta bags when it gets too old. And I don’t want to find out that my stash of emergency macaroni expired 2 months ago when I need a box right now.

      I don’t have an issue with Kraft wanting to provide a dye free option, or even a preservative free option, or a whole grain noodle option (I hate whole grain pasta, the texture is disgusting). But I don’t like having my routines and options preempted by busybodies, or my hand forced, and finding replacements or new sources for products we’ve used for years is a huge hassle. If they want to target the health food market, I don’t see why they need to upset everyone else’s grocery and pantry routines.

      Pillsbury changed their blueberry muffin with streusel to a ‘whole grain’ recipe several years and no one in the family likes the new recipe. That set off a chain reaction of several really stupid attempts to replicate them, and culminated in the development of my blueberry and greek yogurt muffin recipe.

      Hormel changed their chili recipe when I was a teenager and it caused an upheaval that was only resolved by moving to Texas, where Wolf Chili is available.

      My HEB has stopped stocking Contadina tomato paste, which goes in a huge number of my recipes. I have to go to a different grocery story in a (relatively) more dangerous area to buy this now. I buy as much of it as the grocery budget affords on those trips, to the entertainment of the cashiers.

      These sort of changes cause real inconvenience to people, and I deeply resent having them forced on me by ignorant busybodies and food snobs.

Leave a Reply

