Happy New Year!

So the new year is a few days old already. So what? Raphael and I spend the last two days of 2014 and the first two of days of 2015 with what I suspect was a mild case of the flu. This rather undermined my idea of a resolution of blogging each day.

So instead I have a new resolution. I hereby resolve not to let transient bad days and miscellanious interruptions completely derail me. I want to be more with it and on top of the things going on in my life. I had a good stretch of this running up to Christmas as I hustled to finish sweaters and sundry other projects. Living like that felt good. And the biggest factor in that is not letting myself get derailed.

Our anniversary was Saturday. I wasn’t feeling up to going to the brewery, and they don’t do the fantastic lunch thing on the weekend anyway. Instead I made an enormous batch of dutch cream waffles, and we abandoned the boys at my parent’s house to go and shop for a new mattress.

We weren’t planning on buying a new mattress, only to investigate different styles and figure out maybe what was comfortable. But we stumbled across a really great mattress on a great sale, so we stuck it on layaway and should have it by the end of February.

Then we found out a connection to our water heater had been leaking for an indeterminate amount of time into the upstairs hall light fixture because the upstairs circuit started determinately tripping. Instead of spending Fake Epiphany with David and Monique as we had planned, Himself stayed home to dry things out and repair the light, while I took the boys with me to visit. We had a nice visit and a nice dinner and some (apparently) rapturous slices of stollen and some wee pineapple empanadas and then came home.

And today, although Christmas isn’t really over yet, it’s back to the grind. Mouse breeding. Mouse genotyping. School work. Cleaning. Oh the cleaning.

…I wrote most of this post yesterday, then life happened. But I’m not letting myself get derailed, I shall post it anyway!

This entry was posted in Meta and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. Jenny says:

    I think we too had a very mild case of the flu. The symptoms were right but never severe enough for me to call it “The Flu.”

    • GeekLady says:

      That’s how I felt about it, but I’m at a loss as to what else it could have been. Sore throat, tickly cough, fever, chills, body aches, headache. That’s neither a cold nor a bacterial illness.

Leave a Reply

