As For Me and My House

…we’re celebrating the Ascension on Thursday from now on. Where it belongs. Because I’m sick and tired of the intense uncertainty I keep experiencing with digital breviaries trying to make sure I’m on the right day. Yesterday, I ended up in the 7th Sunday of Easter by accident and was almost all the way through morning prayer before I realized the error.
That was the last straw. I’m sick to death of this feast transferral nonsense. I can’t do anything about the Mass being transferred to Sunday in some areas. But Ascension Thursday remains the real feast day, and in our house that’s what we’ll keep. I’m not going to play juggle the liturgical day anymore. I’m tired of accidentally screwing it up.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to As For Me and My House

  1. At Walsingham we tend to keep the feast days on the right days. So if ever in doubt come to Walsingham. Noon and 7:00. 🙂

  2. melaniebett says:

    I feel blessed to live in one of the few places in the US where the Ascension is celebrated on Thursday. But the digital breviaries still screwed me up. The divineoffice.org podcast chose to go with Sunday Ascension, so everything was messed up from Thursday on.

    • GeekLady says:

      I hate deferring these solemnities so much. It’s such a jarring disunity. Especially the Ascension, which you can even miss if you’re traveling around the US at that time.

  3. Regina says:

    That’s one of the reasons why you should stay away from digital “breviaries”. They’re okay as an occasional backup or an even more occasional “I’m too lazy to open up my breviary”, but otherwise not so hot. They’re popular (a fad, really), but not reliable. That being said, iBreviary is far superior to the others. Be sure to also check out their “Prayers” tab. I’m with you on this flip-flopping liturgical calendar nonsense. Thankfully, my diocese celebrates the Ascension on Thursday, but that could change at any time.

Leave a Reply

