Almost April

The Headcold of Dreadful Doom is slowly passing. In the meantime, I’ve completely lost track of how much Lent has gone by. … The good news is I have a whole ‘nother week to get ready for Easter. The bad news is, I accidentally confused my CCE class yesterday. Oh well, they’re kindergarteners. They don’t have a good grasp on the passage of time either.

It’s almost April. This is a reminder that I need to come up with a 1914 French dress of indeterminate social purpose (probably formal dinnerwear) by April 14th. Also, a comparable costume of an English minister of war for Himself, although we aren’t entirely certain if he ought to be in uniform or not, and if not, whether medals would be worn out of uniform. Also, he gets to wax his mustache.

Every year, ShipGirl* has a murder mystery birthday party, and this year we’re invited! But it’s a period piece, and that means costumes. *whimper* The idea of early 20th century formal dinner dress to fit my frame terrifies me.

*Congratulations, ShipGirl. You now have a blog nickname! You know who you are.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Almost April

  1. Baron Korf says:

    As a historical reference, might I recommend Molly Brown? She was from that era and definitely not petite.

    • GeekLady says:

      It turns out that ShipGirl and the Flying Artist made my character is a French chef. So I’m don’t have to fret over evening wear! Hurray! Instead I’m going to take the classic chef uniform and sub in a utilitarian sort of period work-skirt in the black and white check of the traditional trousers.

      On Thu, Mar 27, 2014 at 11:17 AM, On the Care and Feeding of Geeks wrote:

      >

  2. flycat says:

    Thank heavens you clarified you were going to a dinner party. I was trying to sort why you needed period dress for Palm Sunday.

    Glad you are feeling better.

Leave a Reply

