Lenten Discipline

I tried to think a lot about what to do during Lent this year. But my life is so… jumbly right now that deciding just which one thing to give up overwhelmed me and I kept shoving it to the back of my mind and not thinking about it. So yesterday there I was, Fat Tuesday, and I had no idea what I was giving up.

I didn’t really know where to go from there. Everything in life has been messy and overwhelming for a 18 months now. The house is a chaos I can’t bring myself to order. Blogs I read but can’t write. I can barely even comment. I lost my habit of the LotH while I was pregnant and have had trouble settling back into the habit postpartum – like trying to zip up that pair of jeans that just doesn’t fit right anymore. "What I do, I do not understand. For I do not do what I want, but I do what I hate." Also I play a lot of Threes.

The three pillars of Lent were in the front of my mind this last week though, because I taught the kindergarteners about them in our last CCE class. Prayer. Fasting. Almsgiving. And so I decided that instead of any one specific sacrifice, I would, for the most part, take it day by day, focusing on those principles.

But then again, it’s not Lent if I’m don’t have something to do every day. So I’m going to blog. Every day. Ash Wednesday to Holy Thursday. Via email, so I don’t get all wound up and frustrated over formatting errors.

Other people do blog fasts. But fasting doesn’t feel like it will do anything for this… acedia I’m experiencing. If we’re going to do an analogy, diet is only one half of maintaining a healthy weight. The other is exercise. I don’t need to focus on my blog diet, so much as my blog exercise.

I guess that makes this blog almsgiving. I don’t have much money. But I have lots of words. So I will give them to you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lenten Discipline

  1. Melanie B says:

    I like the idea of focusing on each of the three

  2. Melanie B says:

    I like the idea if focusing on the three pillars of Lent each day. Dom got a review copy of a Lent with St Therese book that takes that kind of approach. If I hadn’t already settled, I think I’d do that. Though my fear is it might be like doing a different penance instead of abstaining from meat in Friday. Nice in theory but harder than just skipping meat.

    I like the idea if blog alms giving. Today I was thinking about alms giving during mass and it occurred to me I could give alms of my time and attention to my children. Answering the first time they ask, not lingering over tasks and hiding in the bathroom. Oh boy it’s a hard one.

    • GeekLady says:

      I understand it sounds like ‘choose your own penance’ Fridays, that made me a little uncomfortable too. And I’d been experiencing a need to write more, so I added blogging every day as a corrective. Something I had to do and wouldn’t necessarily enjoy but was good for me. It was that or exercise.
      But what I’m aiming at isn’t picking one way to fast or pray or give during the day so much as an extended analysis of everything I do as it relates to one of them, asking whether I’m being self indulgent.

      Almsgiving was hard to pin down, but I really like your idea of giving alms with your time and attention. Blogging as almsgiving was a little puckish, but it didn’t fit anywhere else.

  3. Megan says:

    Yay! Good thing I didn’t give up blog reading for Lent.

Leave a Reply

