7 Quick Takes – Poop Edition

1.  The only poop is in this take.  I just couldn’t resist titling these takes ‘Poop Edition’.

So.  Raphael… pooped on Mike on Sunday morning.  Mike was headed out to a radio controlled airplane fly-in and I asked him to change the baby before he left.  The next thing I know, I hear a squirt and an exclamation of disgust which, to his credit, didn’t include any swearing at all.  And then a call for help, but I was already on my way to get the carpet cleaner.

Yes, my builder was dumb enough to put carpet in the master bathroom.  Apparently they’re unclear on what bathrooms are for.

ANYWAY, Clorox hard surfaces cleaner will take poop out of carpet amazingly well for a product that is only supposed to be used on hard surfaces.  You have to use plenty of water afterwards to get the soap out, but it’s worth it, in my mind, to have a poop-free and theoretically disinfected carpet.

I hate the carpet in this house and am only awaiting sufficient funds to rip it all out and replace it with some combination of tile, hardwood, and laminate.  I would vastly prefer that the only carpet in my house be the kind that can be taken outside and vigorously beaten.

2.  I didn’t get a post up yesterday because yesterday was just so *redacted* exhausting.  Get up at 5.  Make coffee.  Pack my lunch. Fortunately breakfast and Himself’s lunch were already made.  Pack up pump bits, milk, and clean bottles.  Get the boys ready.  Stuff everyone in the truck and head to MoMo’s.  Lug everyone inside, nurse Rafe, then head to the bus stop.  No Union Pacific related delays today, thankfully.  One bus and one light rail ride later, and I’m at work.  Work stupidly hard to do most of a day’s work before 2, because we have to induce hypoxia in a rat heart and fix it in paraformaldehyde between 2 and 4.  (My calendar is an interesting place.)  Pump twice (and my badge still doesn’t let me into the lactation room which is a humongous hassle.) Finish the experiment, duck out of work 30 minutes early, and grab the light rail to the Co-Cathedral for Mass.  My parish schedules their holy day Masses for 8:30am and 6:00pm.  How the gainfully employed are supposed to attend these is beyond my ability.  I hate going to holy days without my family, it just feels wrong.  Arrive at the cathedral early, muse briefly that it is actually lovely inside in a simple and all constructed at the same time sort of unified way, and pray Vespers.  Attend Mass.  Hot-foot it to the bus stop.  Marvel I only have to wait 20 minutes for the bus that’s advertised as coming every 6-12.  Get back to the truck.  Drive home.  It’s now quarter past seven and I haven’t eaten since noon.  Make peanut butter toast for dinner and wait for the menfolk to get home from Mass at our parish.  Gratefully nurse the baby and collapse into bed.

When people talk about more meaningful celebration of solemnities, they need to start with making it possible for people to attend Mass.  I’m convinced the reason so many Catholics skip HDOs is because their parishes don’t celebrate Mass when they can attend and that lack of attendable Masses translates to “we don’t really think it’s important that you come to this”.

/rant

Anyhow, I really want to get my thoughts of what drives superhero comics organized and up.  I meant to do it yesterday, but that didn’t happen.  Maybe over the weekend.

3.  I really thought I could whip these out while David was upstairs in his room, having been sent back to bed during breakfast for growling at me.  But he’s come back down and apologized.  This kid has the worst temper.  It’s not like the worst of little kid temper tantrums, this kid gets an adult mad going.  And when he gets in trouble for it, the mad goes in at himself and he cries like the world has ended and he’s all alone.  I’m pretty much at a loss for how to deal with this now.  Nothing works.  I have to send him off to his bedroom for it to wear off on its own, and that doesn’t show any signs of helping him reign in his emotions either.

4.  We’ve been doing school rather haphazardly over the summer, but now it’s time to gear up for the first real school year.  Instead, I’m focusing on cleaning and organizing, so we can start on the 27th with a clean workspace and organized supplies.  we won’t have school in the work room this year because it isn’t finished yet, but hopefully by next year it will be ready for action, all except the closet renovation and replacing the carpet which require more extensive funds.

Right now, it needs a couple more bookshelves and storage miscellanea, some desperately needed keep/sell/give/throw organization, a new standing desk for Himself, some bar stools, and the dry erase work table.  We have the dry erase board to set in the table, Himself just needs to build it, and the time to do that might not happen until next summer.

5.  I did take David shopping for school supplies over the tax-free weekend, not because there was anything we needed for school, but because I thought he would get a boost of enthusiasm from a new box of crayons and some more drawing paper.  And he needed new sneakers so we would be out and about anyway.

And I’m so very glad we did this, because just look at what he found!

Essential Educational Material!

I had automatically said no, but after I saw what he had, I included it as a homeschooling supply and placed it very carefully in the cart, because it was the only one in the store.  And this week I scanned every picture in the book.  Do you know what this is, my friends?

This is bribery.  Every day, after school, everyone who exhibited a good attitude gets a Justice League coloring page of their choice. Including me.

There’s a 64-count box of crayons I’ve been saving for a special occasion.  I think this might be it.

6.  …If this kid breaks one more thing that he knows he isn’t supposed to be meddling with, I’m going to lose my mind.

7.  I am entirely new to this homeschooling business.  Texas is one of the easiest places to do it, and kindergarten isn’t mandatory here either, but this is still a new and rather interesting adventure to us.  We’ve joined a local homeschooling group, but there are lots of curriculum questions up in the air for the coming years.  So if you have a favorite homeschooling resource or blog, please give it in the comments.

I’m already a big fan of Melissa Wiley’s blog, but other than that, I got nothing.

For more Quick Takes, visit Jen @ Conversion Diary.  (She apparently chose boozing and conversation over blogging, for which I can’t really blame her, but there are more in the links.)

This entry was posted in 7 Quick Takes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 7 Quick Takes – Poop Edition

  1. Mad Auntie Mo says:

    Ha! Our HDO mass was at 5:30. Not worker-friendly. Well-attended, though.

    • GeekLady says:

      I think 5:30 in College Station is about comparable, traffic-wise, to 6:00 in Houston. Although I thought that was the normal daily Mass time there?

      8:30 is our standard daily Mass time, and I don’t begrudge it (much) but not offering a feasible option for people who work is shameful.

  2. RAnn says:

    I make it to mass on HDOs but I don’t like it. A parish not far from my office offers a noon mass; unfortunately the pastor didn’t see it has his duty to get us in and out and back to work on time like the downtown priests do.

  3. Kathleen says:

    I don’t even want to think about how you’re going to work AND homeschool.

    And I’m really interested in the comic book post. 🙂 I live in a house full of boys and I have become a fan of superheroes out of self defense. 😉

Leave a Reply

