7 Quick Takes – Oh Boy Edition

1. So… that baby girl who was supposed to be here in three weeks? She is really a he.

We only even found out because my OB couldn't get a good bead on her his heart rate this visit, so she ordered a quick ultrasound and some time on the monitor. And the next thing I know I the ultrasound tech is saying “wait, didn't I tell you you were having a girl??”

Definitely NOT a girl.

I tried to tell her it wasn't her fault, but she's too embarrassed to even look at me right now. But I read the anatomy ultrasound – both anatomy ultrasounds since we has two, two weeks apart – myself, independent from my tech, and I concurred that this baby was a girl.

We are so thoroughly flabbergasted that we don't know what to do now.

I feel like I need a good cathartic cry. Only I'm not actually sad at all. The baby is active and healthy. That's all that's really important. But I still feel all tense and wound up in a way that I know crying will relax… but I can't.

2. For the time being, I dub this baby NinjaBaby. Since he's apparently a super stealthy master of disguise.

3. We don't know what to do for a name, though. We never even had a contender for a boy's name and we've already had one nasty fight over it. And this baby has been Elanor and Ellie for 18 weeks.

4. Tindòmiel translates to morning star. Her real name was going to be Elanor Aurora. Elanor was lifted whole cloth from The Lord of the Rings and Aurora is my mother in law's name. But there's no point in keeping it shrouded in mystery now.

5. At this rate, maybe he'll even be twins. Hey, I can always hope (in defiance of all reasonable medical observation), right? And I swear sometimes he feels like two babies, not one.

6. A lot of what's distressing me right now is that, while absolutely nothing has changed (except in my head), I feel like I have to get entirely reacquainted with this baby.

7. And I just ordered yarn to knit a Baby Valkyrie hat. Now I'm going to have to order more yarn in brown to knit another Baby Viking hat too.

I say too, not instead, because at this point I'm just going to the hospital packed for any possibility.

More Quick Takes @ Jen's, et cetera…

This entry was posted in 7 Quick Takes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 7 Quick Takes – Oh Boy Edition

  1. Melanie B says:

    Oh boy! That is quite the shock alright. I understand the need for a good cathartic cry sure enough. When we learned Ben was a boy at the first ultrasound it was shock enough. We’d never considered the possibility of a boy. But we had months and months to get used to the idea and we hadn’t assigned him a girl’s name.

    There’s one bright side at least you did have the ultrasound. Imagine finding out that she was a he when he was born. That would be a terrible way to have the news broken. At least you have a little time to get used to the idea before you meet him face to face.

    • GeekLady says:

      I think I would have coped just as well at delivery as I am now, and hey, it would give me something to think about in recovery. I know that these things happen, but with two separate u\s saying (quite clearly) ‘girl’ I just didn’t think it was possible in my specific case.

      To be honest, I love being the mother of a boy and was a little apprehensive about mothering a girl. I’m not a terribly girlie person, for one. For another, the odds were good that we’d produce a really lovely girl, and the idea of her teenage years frightened me. I was not a lovely child or teenager, and the pressures girls face these days… *shiver*

      Right now, it’s the name issue that’s giving us fits. We were so relieved that we didn’t have to fight over boys names… and now we do.

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Eak! That’s so funny. He just wanted to surprised you.

  3. JoAnna says:

    Wow, what a surprise! As the mother of an Elanor, I think it’s a great name and I’m kinda sad you won’t get to use it this time.

    How about Theoden instead? Or Samwise? 🙂

    • GeekLady says:

      I’m very attached to the name combo, so I’ll save it for another time. I told my OB, “I guess this means you’ll be seeing me through this at least one more time” and she laughed.

  4. Baron Korf says:

    Hah! I’m just going on record as nailing the Aurora/Tindòmiel connection.

  5. Megan says:

    0.0 Ninja baby indeed. I promise not to judge you if you need a good cry. But congratulations on your new boy. 🙂

    • GeekLady says:

      It’s weird! I feel all tense inside in a way that would normally mean I’m fighting tears, and that tears would relieve the tension. But tears aren’t imminent at all – I’m far more inclined to laugh, but that doesn’t ease the tension. It’s a very strange way to feel. I need to cry and literally can’t.

  6. Renee says:

    Thank God, It was cleared up before birth.

    • GeekLady says:

      I think the only part that would really have overset me would have been the lack of brand new baby Viking hat pictures, because I wouldn’t have made a boy’s hat, and am not quite sure where to find David’s. I wouldn’t even have had the yarn to whip one out in the hospital.

  7. Foxfier says:

    Oh, my!

    Of course your emotions are all screwy– Even the least complicated pregnancy has a lot of “knowledge is control” to it, and you don’t have the least complicated pregnancy, so any shaking of what you “know” is going to be pretty dang scary.

    On a side– reasonable medical observation said he was a girl. Be prepared. it can’t hurt. (Wouldn’t buy an extra seat, though.)

    I’ll echo the Samwise.

  8. KJL says:

    I am currently in the exact same situation (well, it’s reversed actually). We had a 3D ultrasound at 17 weeks which confirmed (with so much clarity!) that we were having a boy. Then we had another ultrasound at 22 weeks which confirmed (again, with what we thought was clarity) that baby is a girl! Now we don’t know what to think!

  9. Kara says:

    Oh my! This isn’t helping my anxiety after having an U/S at 17 weeks and seeing boy parts (after having 4 girls) that the parts will change before my 19.5 week U/S on Tuesday…

    I did have to laugh that your thumbnail was baby boy parts. Way to get people to read the blog. Haha..

    • GeekLady says:

      Oh, hey, I didn’t even think of THAT. *blush*

      I was just please my Quick Takes had a picture to use, for once.

      Don’t fret though. Girl parts to boy parts is the usual direction of misidentification. You’d need the perfect shot of bottom and umbilical cord to mistake a girl for a boy.

  10. Elizabeth says:

    Just had a realization. What does geekbaby think about this whole bate and switch. You’ve been telling him girl now you’ve got a boy… which is better? Boy (buddy to hang out with) or girl (someone to protect)?

    • GeekLady says:

      He specifically wanted a sister, so he was quite disappointed. Until I offered to show him the ultrasound with the boy parts! That cheered him up.
      We’ve been having quite a few anatomical discussions lately. I should post a video of his description of digestion – it’s gross, but hilarious.

  11. Elizabeth says:

    There is nothing wrong with talking about gross stuff as long as it’s learning. 🙂 I was always a major fan of human anatomy and physiology.

Leave a Reply

