30 Weeks

30 Weeks

It feels so weird to be this pregnant. I'm 3/4 of the way through. Back in October, 30 weeks was this distant, probably never arriving number. But now we're here.

Men on the train have taken to guessing how far along I am, which I find entertaining because they're invariably off by 1-3 months. I've heard everything from four and a half months to six months. I'm..7? 6.75? Honestly, its not really clear anymore.

I'm trying to to flip out about my weight. It shot up drastically a couple of appointments ago, and so it's hard to process that I've only gained 22 pounds so far. I'd like to keep the total gain around 30, which makes a reasonable breakdown:

  • 8-9 for baby (the odds of this child being < 8 lbs. are low)
  • 1.5 for placenta
  • 2 pounds of amniotic fluid
  • 2 pounds for increased uterine mass
  • 2 pounds of increased breast mass
  • 3-4 pounds of extra blood volume
  • 3-4 pounds of retained fluids
  • 5-6 pounds fat stores

But the numbers on the scale are /big/. I just have to keep teling myself “you were 202 pounds before you started this, your weight gain is acceptable” over and over again.

One of my graduate student friends had a baby a year after GeekBaby was born. She asked me once, late in her pregnancy whether I felt acquainted with GeekBaby's personality while he was still on the inside. My response: Absolutely! GeekBaby was clingy and stubborn, even in the womb. But Tindomiel's different. She's still stubborn, but she seems more eager to get out than her big brother. For the last month, she's been running elbows and knees and hands and feet along the inside of my tummy, as if looking for a way out. (This is extremly uncomfortable.) She also drops quite low occasionally and has not been stretching my rib cage as badly.

I predict she's not going to like being swaddled and will be an expert swaddle buster. And normally, when I swaddle a baby, that baby stays swaddled. Like they're in a tiny baby straightjacket. Also, she won't want quite the level of constant physical contact GeekBaby did does, will like the bouncy chair, and I'll be able to put her down occasionally without calling down Armageddon on the household. We shall see.

In 10 weeks.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 Weeks

  1. Mad Auntie Mo says:

    Arrr. Thirty be a great number. Canna wait to meet the little lassie!

  2. Baron Korf says:

    If it makes you feel better, the numbers on my scale are bigger and there is only one of me.

Leave a Reply

