7 Quick Takes – With 100% More Han Solo Edition

1. So last week, when I saw my OB, she told me it was the first time she could look at me and definitively say “Yep. She's pregnant.”

I was quite relieved that I'd finally passed the dumpy looking stage when I look like I've never met a donut I didn't like. I have so much torso that even in a second pregnancy I spend 22-26 weeks where I'm just thickened up all over and look more fat than pregnant.

Dangit, now I'm craving donuts. And it's Friday. And Lent. I don't even want good donuts, I want those wee Mrs. Baird's powdered sugar donuts that come in the long skinny plastic bags…

…I resisted eating that leftover baklava back on the first Friday of Lent. I can do this. Maybe.

2. Oh! Last Friday, after I already wrote my quick takes, GeekBaby and I got attacked by a rat-dog outside the Container Store!

Now I like dogs, as long as they're suitably big, friendly, and/or lazy. You know the type. Dog-ish. Not psychotic pseudo-rat. I loathe anything that's small enough to fit in a purse, yaps, or makes suicidally aggressive attacks on me and my child in a public venue.

And I do mean suicidal. In my normal (i.e. agile and not pregnant) state, I'm entirely capable of handling (permenantly) small, aggressive dogs threatening me and accompanying small children. Pregnant, tired, brochitis-y, clambering out of a pickup with my four year old to be confronted by a loose rat-dog trailing a broken leash charging us barking and growing… I just lost it and started screaming.

The owner's response? “He won't bite you” was entirely useless. She did at least retrieve the (still barking and lunging) dog. No apology though.

That experience must be what The Machine is like.

3. I got a new coffee making gadget, and I think it might be the best one ever. Behold! The sit on your cup cone filter!

Coffee's been tricky this pregnancy. French press (our usual) and all its grounds turned my stomach, but I found drip coffee (with sugar and cream) actually settled it better than anything else. So we got a drip machine. And I hated it. It was impossible to clean unless things went through the dishwasher, it took up a huge chunk of counter space, and the coffee always tasted stale, even if I'd cleaned everything.

Then Himself gave coffee up for Lent. And I tried tea, but it lacked the stomach calming properties of my morning coffee. So I took to trying various methods of brewing one cup of coffee with a paper filter. Then I stumbled across the cone filter. It is the best coffee gadget ever. Here's how I use it for a single cup.

I heat water in my kettle, get my big mug, cone filter, paper #4 filter, and a 2 cup measure. I measure 2 tablespoons of drip coffee in the measuring cup, assemble mug, come, and paper filter, and wait for the water to get hot. When the water is hot, but not boiling (the pre-whistling stage) I fill the cone with hot water and let it drain through, then the measuring cup to the 2 cup mark. It's enough water to coffee that you don't need to stir. Wait one minute, empty the hot water drained into the mug, and pour the mess of coffee and grounds into the paper filter to drip.

It is a very good cup of coffee. But it's also low mess – even less than our French press. And if we had a carafe big enough, the same cone filter could be used to make a six cup pot of coffee.

Small, dishwasher safe, easy to use, versatile, and all for about $6.

4. Tindómiel is starting to poke randomly out of my stomach. I can actually feel the wee feet and hands and bum stick out, or paw across the inside of my tummy. It's a weird feeling, but one of the best parts of pregnancy, in my opinion.

It's little things like being poked from the inside that cheer me up in what is otherwise a pretty miserable, nerve wracking experience.

5. So after much thought, I've decided to swallow my pride and proceed with a scheduled csection. My doctor was willing to let me try a VBAC, but I just can't face trying and ending up with another, possibly more serious, csection. I spent five days in the hospital with GeekBaby, two and some for the induction and two and the rest after the csection. And I hated being there. The hospital was nice, it was like having a baby in a five star hotel, but all I wanted was to go home. Between the induction, the surgery, the new baby, and the constant disruption of nurses, I was exhausted. With a scheduled and no complications, that time can probably be cut down to two and a half. And that means going home waaaay less tired and cranky and better able to enjoy the fruit of my labor.

6. I'm sitting here typing my Quick Takes, and my four year old is doing laundry. No joke. He thinks being permitted to put loads of laundry in the washer and move them to the dryer is a huge priviledge. All I have to do is add the soap and bleach and get the machines started.

…what? Home economics is a legitimate subject for education.

7. Yesterday, by the time I reached the truck, I was terribly thirsty. And hey, there's a Sonic right on my way home! So I stopped and got a cherry limeade. I took a couple grateful gulps, then headed home. As I turned out onto the street, the cherry limeade flopped over in the cup holder which punched a hole in the bottom side of the cup. So there I am, horrified, trying to drive down a thankfully not busy street, with cherry limeade pouring everywhere.

It was all over quickly and there was nothing for it but to drive on home with lakes of soft drink in both sides of the cup holder, drenched in cherry limeade, and still thirsty.

Himself wouldn't let me clean it up. He did it while I went upstairs to change and cry.

Bonus Take of Awesome:

For more Quick Takes, visit Jen @ Conversion Diary.

 

This entry was posted in 7 Quick Takes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 7 Quick Takes – With 100% More Han Solo Edition

  1. Foxfier says:

    #2 –
    I don’t actually mind size, it’s the whole “laid back” that I care about. Our cats are better dogs than most of the yappers. (Dear Husband wants a corgi because they’re normal dogs that just, for some reason, come in a small size.

    #4 –
    I agree– it’s the BEST! My folks always get very solicious when I suddenly flinch while pregnant, but I’m just startled– doesn’t hurt.
    And it’s just so cool to look down and see the kid poking something or other out. (Two favorites- the kick up between the top of my ribs where I could tell it was a foot with the first, and the habit the second had of curling up with her behind sticking out to the left or right.)

    • GeekLady says:

      Mini schnauzers are also good small dogs that are big dog like.

      I feel bad comparing these dogs to rats. Rats are actually rather sweet animals, it’s mice that are the vicious, insane, suicidal rodents.

      It’s not always comfortable – David liked to stretch his legs against my rib cage. It expanded 4″ in his third trimester and he came out with legs like hams, not the scrawny things newborns usually have.

  2. Foxfier says:

    Also– I AM SENDING THAT HAN PICTURE TO MY HUSBAND!!!!!

  3. Melanie B says:

    2 1/2 days… that would be quick. Even with my Lucy being my fifth I couldn’t get them to let me go faster than 3 days. But yeah, five days in the hospital really stinks. I’m always so very ready to get out.

    My favorite was the nurse after Anthony way born who tried to talk me into staying another day saying I’d get more rest in the hospital. I guess she was appalled at the thought that I had three young kids at home. But at home no one tries to wake me in the middle of the night to take my vitals and no one takes the baby away to the nursery for his checkups. And I had a husband and sister and mother to get up with the other kids. Also, at home nurses don’t scold me for falling asleep while nursing the baby.

    • GeekLady says:

      David was born between 11 and 12 on a Thursday and I was home by 5 on Saturday, so really less than 2.5 days. When my OB came to check on me Saturday afternoon, I was prowling around my room like a caged animal and he asked if I wanted to go home.
      My new OB actually did her residency training with him as one of the proctors. I already asked, and she said she’s game to send me home early as long as I’m feisty.

      • Melanie B says:

        Yeah, Lucia was born on Thursday and I was home Sunday afternoon. I’d have loved to be home on Saturday but the OB that day was kind of a jerk. Even Sunday was considered “early release” though.

        • GeekLady says:

          Yeah, insurance companies used to not cover adequate hospital stays for c sections, with the obvious horrible results. But my first OB was of the mind that if I was well enough to pace, I was well enough to go home, bless him. But then he’s the original author of the “difficult patient” notation in my file. 🙂

          • Foxfier says:

            I just wish they’d tell me what they’re checking for when they measure this or that, or ask the same question every X hours. I may be high as a kite, but for heaven’s sake– I do still have a brain.

            • melaniebett says:

              Amen to that! I hate it when they talk down to me as if I’d never be able to understand the big words. Or don’t say anything at all.

  4. Megan says:

    That Han Solo reference was awesome.

    Also, I dislike dogs in general, but particularly tiny yappy obnoxious rat-dogs. (One of my brothers-in-law has a Husky who is quiet and well-trained, and I find her almost tolerable. Plus her fur is fluffy.)

Leave a Reply

