More Gassing About Advent Wreaths

Still musing over my Advent wreath. I'm just gonna do it straight into the keyboard, since GeekBaby is playing so nicely with his blocks this morning.

One of the advantages of using white candles with ribbons is that you can just pull the ribbons off at Christmas and don't have to change the candles themselves. But I'm not sure how this will work after pinning the ribbons onto the candles themselves.

I'm actually feeling a little conflicted over the pinning business. Pins produce a much neater look than the seamed circlets, and I love that. But I don't know if it will interfere with burning them, and I don't know how they'll look when I pull the pins out at Christmas. Maybe I should put gold ribobns on at Christmas?

This is all highly experimental.

In fact, this whole pinning business may play havoc with other plans of mine for those ribbons. The original circlets were just kind of place holders, something quick and easy to make. I always intended to replace them with prettier, embroidered circlets, but hadn't gotten around to it yet. On one hand, I'm glad I never got around to it, it would be infuriating to have made painstakingly embroidered circlets, only to have them not fit the homemade candles!

I like the beeswax candles. They burn very nicely, and I have high hopes I can reclaim the leftover wax and cast fresh pillars for next year at minimal (or no) expense. And they're prettier than the stark white of previous years.

Thinking about the embroidery now… part of the reason I never got around to making them is I couldn't decide what to embroider. Now I'm considering doing these O Antiphon symbols in gold.

I don't know who deserves the credit for this art, but I love it. If anyone knows where it comes, from, please, tell me!

I like these a lot and they'd be easy since they're already stylized into line art. I wonder what you guys out there in the internet think of the idea.

Oh well, I've finished my coffe and ought not waste the little time I feel good during the day on rambling. I'd best get going.

 

This entry was posted in Projects and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More Gassing About Advent Wreaths

  1. Mad Auntie Mo says:

    Can you say, “overthink”? Seriously, sweetie, anything you do will be FINE. And I wouldn’t worry about pins. Beeswax is very forgiving. Warm it a little, and you can rub the pin holes out.

    • GeekLady says:

      ๐Ÿ™‚ Of course it’s overthinking. I overthink everything. You know me.
      But really, there’s not much else I’m up for at the moment, and I seem to need to be either doing something, or thinking about doing it. Thinking is a poor second, too. I feel like I’m starving something.

  2. flycat says:

    I love the idea of gold. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Pingback: Considering A Wreath Candle Cream

Leave a Reply

