7 Quick Takes – Unthemed Edition

1. Since our esteemed hostess has commented on how some of us can’t write quick takes without a unifying theme, I’m going to take that as permission to post without a unifying theme, even if it upsets my OCD. *gasp*

2. My sister had her baby! He looks just like her and is long, 23 inches! That’s even longer than GeekBaby was. Not as heavy though. GeekBaby was a solid chunk of infant up until he gained mobility, then he slimmed down considerably. He’s still rather stocky, but it’s all muscle. Terrifying muscle. Everyone is doing well, and I’m very relieved she got through safely. None of the women in our family seem to have babies easily.

3. We went to Miss Mess’s birthday party last Sunday, and there I discovered that my son is every bit as shy and introverted as I am. We walked into the party, and he freaked and tried to burrow into my neck. He wouldn’t come out for cake, to see the birthday girl, to say hi to Mo-Geek, nothing. Finally he went over to Mo-Geek’s house for a little peace and quiet with Himself and Mo-Geek’s husband (for whom I lack a clever nickname) and after a quarter of an hour peeking at the cranky kitty (and being permitted to exist by said kitty!) he was ready to come back to the party with relatively normal behavior of cuddling up with mommy or daddy and just people watching.

4. I tried to take him in the pool, and am sad to say it’s just not possible for me to take him swimming anymore. He’s too frightened of the water, and he’s too heavy to cling to my back like he used to. He’s over 40 pounds now and he can’t stop grabbing me around my neck which kept sending me under unexpectedly. This makes me sad, I love swimming. I wish I could have gotten him used to the water more as a baby, but we don’t have access to a pool. All the local pools are sudivision only, and our subdivision doesn’t have one. *sigh*

5. He’s started going ‘nyah’ at me whenever he doesn’t like something I say (a behavior he’s imitating perfectly from Satsuke and Kanta in My Neighbor Totoro). This resulted in an almost complete television ban for the week. And I just can’t believe the behavior difference! He’s a completely different child, well behaved, less cranky and demanding… It’s wonderful. The TV ban is now permenant, with one thirty minute episode of something permitted in the evening if he was good during the day… and this includes letting me wash his hair without screaming and sobbing and flailing.

6. It’s that time of year again, the time of year I get obsessed with Japanese food. It starts with an interest in sushi and onigiri and procedes to fish flakes and miso pastes and varieties of seaweed, ad infinitum. Poor Himself. This year I’ve actually bought ingredients. It’s sushi or bust. I can’t make it through the year without it.

7. Did you know you can make perfect frozen margaritas in a home ice cream maker? I used 1 cup of lime juice, 1/2 cup of simple syrup, 1 cup of tequila, 1/2 cup triple sec, and about 2 cups of water. Mix this all together, chill it at least 8 hours, and then churn for 30 minutes. They are pretty good, although my neighbor thinks they’re strong. Also, leftovers store well in the freezer, although they take a small amount of defrosting before they’re drinkable again.

The reason I know what my neighbor thinks about my margaritas is that between the time of purchasing the booze and the successful run of margarita through the ice cream maker (there was an unsuccessful run that delayed matters), I found out I was pregnant. So I can’t have any but the teeniest of tastes to ascertain that the recipe works. Which is why I showed up on certain neighbor’s doorsteps with big plastic bowls of frozen margarita, begging them to take it off my hands. They must have though I was crazy.

It also feels weird to say anything about this so early on my blog, but hey, secrecy hasn’t exactly been working out for me. So if you who are reading this could pray for me and the new baby, I would really appreciate it. I’m due at the end of January.

This entry was posted in 7 Quick Takes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 7 Quick Takes – Unthemed Edition

  1. jrwahlund says:

    Congratulations!

  2. MelanieB says:

    Hey! Congratulations!!!! We’re due at almost the same time. How exciting. Have you told GeekBaby yet? I’m curious about how older children with no siblings take the news of another baby. The oldest any of our kids has been at the birth of the next child was less than 2 years.

    Too bad about the frozen margaritas. I’m so glad I never got around to getting to the liquor store to restock on amaretto and other mixers. Now there’s less temptation around the house. Dom has figured out how to make a pretty good faux-jito, which I indulge in when he’s having his mojitos. Having mint growing crazy in the yard makes me profligate with mint flavored drinks.

    Anyway, I’ll be praying for you for sure. Ever since my miscarriage I’ve actually felt comforted in announcing pregnancy early because I feel like all those extra prayers can’t hurt. And if we do miscarry then I want all those prayers too.

    • GeekLady says:

      Thank you! We haven’t told GeekBaby yet because its so very early, and last time we told him, then promptly lost the baby. This caused him a great deal of general distress, and me a great deal of general distress as he tried to make sense of it. He still talks about it all the time, tells strangers about it during his random fits of non shyness, and otherwise ruminates over the whole business in a way that makes me feel a little naked. But he loves babies, he was very excited last fall. I imagine he’ll react much the same, only tempered by questioning over whether this baby is going to die too.

      I’m a little humorously sulky over the margarita fiasco, but mostly because I must have seemed insane pushing Tupperware containers of frozen margaritas at the neighbors. Next I’m going to try a frozen lemonade, because I am not facing the summer without some frozen, non-ice cream substance.

  3. Definitely praying! I am excited for you guys!

Leave a Reply

