7 Quick Takes – Owie Edition

1. I just ranted at length over how the Solemnity of the Epiphany (and the Ascension (and the Annunciation)) should be properly celebrated on their proper dates instead of the charade of transferences and non obligatory status that currently goes on. This drives me nerd-crazy just thinking about it, so I’m not going to repeat myself any more than I already have. 
 
2. True story, in the year following GeekBaby’s birth, I forgot which days were holy days of obligation. But instead of forgetting to attend Mass on a day of obligation, I invented an entirely nonexistent obligation to attend Mass on the Solemnity of the Annunciation, and roundly berated the poor secretary at our parish because how were we supposed to fulfill our obligation if the only Masses they had that day (6:30am and 8:30am) were when normal people had to work! 
 
 
Baby brain does very strange and embarrassing things to me. 
 
3. So I have an infected finger, heaven only knows how, and as it got rapidly and painfully worse over the course of the day, I headed to a doc in the box to have it looked at. I felt silly, but as it turns out, if I had ignored this and it had gone bad worse, I could have lost the finger. But they numbed it up to lance it and I had the most awful experience with the lidocaine. First, the lidocaine nerve block didn’t actually do squat for the pain. The procedure still hurt. Second, it plumped my middle finger up like a sausage and filled it with numbly prickles. Third, it took forever to wear off. I’m still having trouble bending that finger now, and it’s been five hours. Fourth, my already sore digit now feels like it’s spent some time being smashed by a hammer. This is not an improvement. If this is lidocaine, no wonder I hate the dentist. 
 
I’ve got antibiotics now, so hopefully things will improve. 
 
4. My sister is going to have a boy! They had the anatomy ultrasound today. 
 
5. Himself gave me a charm bracelet for our anniversary. Even completely oblivious females like myself can still be surprised and delighted by the occasional bit of jewelry. I’m extra impressed because I think I only casually mentioned I thought I’d like a charm bracelet once, and didn’t elaborate on the specific use I had in mind for it at all. He’d have been well justified giving me four yards of this fabric, because I’ve been talking about making a reverse Irish chain quilt out of this for our bed for years now. 

 
6. Pluralization implies > 1. Lovelace is wrong. 
 
If you aren’t reading The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage, why not? It’s fantastic. Now with 100% more vampire poets. 
 
The iPad app is also fantastic, although not all the stories have been released on it. Just The Origin (free) and The Client ($2.99). But it lets you read them in landscape mode complete with extensive footnotes and primary historical sources. Did you know that Charles Babbage hated street musicians? And had at least one joke where the punchline was a table? 
 
7. On Sunday, GeekBaby smashed my foot with the kneeler during the opening hymn. Turns out there’s a nerve (the sural nerve) that runs right over the top of the foot in just that place, then down under and up the leg alongside the Achilles tendon. The falling kneeler pinched that nerve, and as I was already in the middle of singing, I let out a very loud ‘Aaaaaaaaah!’ and collapsed as my leg had stopped functioning and felt like it was on fire. I limped for the rest of Mass, which puzzled our associate pastor mightily as he’d seen me hurrying into the pew without limping less than an hour ago. 
 
Then, later during the Mass while I wrangled the sulky child in my arms, he braced his stout little legs against the back of the pew in front of us and pushed with only a fretful fraction of his might. And down I went again. This time I almost took out the (extremely understanding) lady in the pew behind us. 
 
And I only have one. It’s days like that which make me doubt my sanity over wanting more. Then he hugs me and little arms around my neck remind me. Then he kisses me and the copious amounts of slobber and snot tempt me to doubt my sanity again. My mental state apparently has mood swings. 
 
That’s all. I’ve been feeling particularly humorsome lately. Visit Jen at Conversion Diary for more Quick Takes!

This entry was posted in 7 Quick Takes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 7 Quick Takes – Owie Edition

  1. jen says:

    when people ask me when i’m going to have more kids, my response is usually that i’ll consider it when i can handle my one kid.

    • GeekLady says:

      Ah yes… I hate that question so much, and every stranger who compliments my child seems to feel that their compliment entitles them to ask it. Why don’t they just give me a nice paper cut and pour lemon juice on it?

      I don’t even know how to answer without either dissembling, or being rude. And I long to be rude, because the question hurts so much.

Leave a Reply

