My First Quilt!

I pieced the top of my son’s quilt today. Start to finish, it took twelve hours… And in that time I also tended the minion, went out for more thread, baked bread, cooked dinner, went outside to play, ate dinner, and took sundry rests.  
 
Whew, I’m tired. But this was fun. I wish I’d picked up quilting sooner.  
 
The picture doesn’t do it justice. You can stand over this and feel like you might fall through it and into outer space. It’s gorgeous.  
 
It needs a border still, and I’m unsure of the color. I’m afraid my creative vision only specified the space fabric, in this particular pattern, and nothing more. I had to consult Mad Mo to find the right colors for the leading. The border is still a mystery to me, although I’m leaning towards TARDIS blue.  
 
I also need to figure out how I’m going to quilt this puppy. My MIL’s old Bernina didn’t come with a walking foot.  
 
 

This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My First Quilt!

  1. Fantastic job! I can’t believe it’s your first!

    • GeekLady says:

      Thank you! It, ahem, looks better from a distance. It’s be laughed out of a quilt show before I finished getting it out of the trunk of the car, I’m afraid. Plus, I haven’t done the really hard part of the actual quilting yet…

  2. Beautiful! I think blue would be great & would set off the brown tones well. And for quilting, you don’t need a walking foot unless you’re going to do straight lines. You need a darning or quilting foot. Search for “Free Motion Quilting Tutorial” and you’ll get some videos & stuff. I think you’d do great at it. But, straight lines in a pattern are also pretty cool. I’ve done both.

    I’m super impressed with your first quilt! Great great job. What’s the pattern name?

    • GeekLady says:

      Well, it’s not as brown as it looks in this picture, the lights and carpet are just overglowing it. The pale patches are actually pearl gray, and to get that shade, I had to dye the kona cotton myself. But I think the blue will balance out all the yellow from the various stars and planets.
      I’ve decided to back and bind it in the same blue as the border, and then quilt just around the octagons and squares of the space fabric in the seam, to enhance the window effect.
      I’m not entirely sure what the pattern is called, but I found this Stars Through The Window baby quilt pattern (http://quilting.about.com/od/babyquiltpatterns/ss/stars_windows.htm) and doubled the size of the blocks to get something roughly twin bed sized.

  3. Dorian Speed says:

    Great job! Can’t wait to see the finished product. Someday I’m going to finish the baby quilt I’m making for my three-year-old.

    • GeekLady says:

      I couldn’t bear the patient little disappointed look he gave me when I said it might not get done in time. And I didn’t have morning sickness as an excuse anymore. Last minute surges are typical of me, I’ll never live down how I finished hemming my wedding gown just in time to go to the rehearsal dinner.

      I’m almost done, but we went to see TinTin today, so I’ll have to work extra hard to finish the binding in time.

Leave a Reply

