Reverse Latin!

It was a busy day, my sister and brother in law are visiting, and we leave Saturday for the annual gaming weekend in College Station. So today, I bring you Reverse Latin!

My Latin is almost nonexistent. I took one semester about ten years ago in college, from which I retained a small, hazy vocabulary and zero grammar. Watch me translate the Salve Regina primarily from word association!

Salve Regina, Mater Misericordiae. Salve, to my fuzzy recollection means health, so it probably corresponds to hail. Regina and mater are both common in English. Regina is a girl’s name meaning queen, mater obviously means mother. Misericordiae, by process of elimination is mercy.

Vita, dulcedo, et spes nostra salve. Vita makes me think of vitality, so it must be life. Dulcedo must be sweetness, derived from dulche de leche. Spes, therefore is hope. Et I remember from Latin, and nostra is our, very similar to the French and Spanish.

Ad te clamamus exules filii Evae. Evae must be Eve since it’s capitalized. Ad and te are more bits of remembered vocabulary, to and you. Clamamus reminds me of clamor, it could be cry. Exules is then left to be banished or exiled.

Ad suspiramus gementes et flentes, in hac lacrimarum valle. Suspiramus must be a verb, ending like clamamus does, so it’s ‘send up’. In hac is ‘in this’, also remembered vocabulary. Lacrimarum must be tears because tears are made by the lacrimal gland. Valle is obviously valley. That leaves ‘gementes et flentes’ which I am just going to collectively translate as ‘sighs, mourning, and weeping’.

Eia ergo, advocata nostra, illos tuos misericordes oculos ad nos converte. I’m not sure about eia or illos, but they doesn’t seem entirely necessary. Ergo is therefore, but probably works as ‘then’. Advocata is clearly advocate. Tuos, I think is your. Misericordes must be another form of mercy. Oculos is eyes, from ocular. Converte fits best as turn.

Et Iesum benedictum fructum ventri tui nobis, post hoc exsilium, ostende. Iesum is Jesus, based its capital I and the scene from Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade where Indy nearly falls because he forgets there’s no J in the Latin alphabet. Benedictum must be ‘blessed’ the English benediction means blessing. Fructum reminds me of fructose, the predominant sugar in ‘fruit’. Tui is like tuos. Ventri is probably womb, it reminds me of ventral. Post hoc is ‘after this’, more remembered vocabulary. Exilium is obviously exile. That leaves ostende for ‘show unto’ and nobis as us.

O clemens, o pia, o dulcis Virgo Maria! Clemens must be clement. Pia I think is a feminine form of pious. Dulcis is like the earlier dulcedo, so it’s sweet. Virgo Maria is plainly Virgin Mary.

Wasn’t that fun?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

