Germinating Stories

I had the oddest thing happen to me.

I’ve had the idea for a story floating around for years and years. Longer than I really remember. It was a children’s story, something like 13 Clocks or The Phantom Tollbooth, but also different. It involved a truly atrocious pun that got my wrist slapped by Mike when I told it to him. But the idea was fun. While I never let it go, I never wrote on it either. I just couldn’t get the hero started down the road. The only things I could think of had been done before, and they didn’t quite fit anyway. So I let it alone in the dark.

And while driving to work, I realized how my hero got involved in the story. And as soon as I realized what happened to him, the story changed. The pun vanished, the hero grew up, the whole plot mutated into something completely different.

It was such an intense experience that I actually forgot I was driving to the bus depot and drove all the way downtown instead. I’ve never felt anything like it. It was insight, not invention, and both terrifying and exhilarating. I don’t yet dare write any of it down, it feels rather like if I do, I am stepping off the edge of the world.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Germinating Stories

  1. mab says:

    Write it! Write it! Go for it! For inspiration, read Walking on Water by Madeline L’Engle. It’s her thoughts on the creative process. I’ve just started it and it’s already changed the way I approach anything creative.

    Go for it! (I shall continue the chant as long as needed….!)

  2. Monique in TX says:

    Oh, go for it! Writing is fun. You think you’re in charge of plot and characters, but the people you create just won’t do or say what you want them to. If you’re lucky, things come out better than you could ever have dreamed…

Leave a Reply

