My arms are about to drop off…

Since my inability to put GeekBaby down without horror and tears is really on my mind lately, I might as well talk about babywearing.  At present, he’s snoozing peacefully in my lap, but as I know that any attempt to put him in crib or bouncy chair will result in bloodshed (mine, I really need to trim his nails) I have a little while to use both hands to type.  This is a luxury in and of itself.

That he doesn’t like to be put down is really putting it mildly.  He is happy to be held and carried.  Put him in a sling or a wrap, and he goes right to sleep.  At least he did, until he outgrew every babywearing device I own.

I know they say that slings, etc. are sized to the wearer, not the baby, and he “can’t” outgrow them… but he did.  He’s too long to fit in my pouch sling in cradle carry, but doesn’t have the head and neck control to sit upright in it.  Too bad, because I love that pouch sling.

And he was always too heavy for the Moby Wrap.  I’ve worked out an alternate method of wrapping, where the fabric crosses and goes under his legs and bum in front to add support, but I wouldn’t do anything vigorous with him up there.  And The Husband literally needs to tie GeekBaby onto me to get him snuggly wrapped enough, I can’t do it alone.

So where to next in babywearing?  I don’t mind wearing him, though he is a little chunky monkey of a baby.  He obviously prefers to keep me under his thumb where he can keep an eye on me and keep me out of trouble.  But I’ve run out of available options, and I can’t afford to go out and buy carrier after carrier in the hopes that the next one will work.

On Monday I’m attending a local babywearing group.  It’s an opportunity to visit with local moms, and try out various carriers.  I’m interested in mei tai’s and ring slings especially, because I could save a bundle by making my own.  We’ll see how it goes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My arms are about to drop off…

  1. Susie says:

    I hope the babywearing meeting went well! Since babies can be in the tummy to tummy (vertical facing in) position in a pouch from birth on, I suspect you can get that to work better for you with some help. (Basically, they just lie their cheek against your chest.) Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

