CanoScan 500F

Apparently I am the top Google search result for compatibility problems with Leopard and CanoScan LiDE 500F scanners.  I haven’t taken a look since I noticed the problem, but I hereby swear to those finding lil’ old me while googling for help, to take a more in depth look at what’s wrong.  Probably over Thanksgiving, I always need an excuse to haul the iMac with me to the Valley.

My dad says Canon will never update drivers and it’s as good as dead, so now I’m hell bent to prove him wrong.  If there’s a feasible way that doesn’t involve writing new drivers myself, I’ll find it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to CanoScan 500F

  1. Bill says:

    So the same problem exists with the Canon 9950. I went to Canon to see if they’ve posted an updated driver, but none there and I’m not hopeful that they’ll support it very soon.

    Have you had any luck?

  2. hugocf says:

    Canon as just (2007-11-26) released a new CanoScan Toolbox v4.9.3.4 for Mac OS X that fixes the Leopard incompatibilities.

    > – Newly supports Mac OS X v10.5.
    > – The problem that CanoScan Toolbox cannot be launched in the Mac OS X v10.5 environment has been rectified.

    http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/controller?act=ModelInfoAct&tabact=SupportDetailTabAct&fcategoryid=235&modelid=11011#DownloadDetailAct

    .
    .
    .

    Guess your dad lost his bet, hum? 🙂

  3. Alan H says:

    Has anyone TRIED the updated drivers from Canon – I cannot get them to work. Constant errors in SGCS112 when trying to scan using Image Capture. The toolbox application also complains about not seeing the scanner. Grr.

  4. kremalicious says:

    Hi, i also ran into problems with this scanner but fixed all of them. i wrote an article about my experiences with the freshest links to the newest (universal) drivers for this scanner:
    Using the CanoScan LiDE 500F scanner with Mac OS X Leopard

Leave a Reply

