The Wailing, Moaning, and Gnashing of Teeth.

I refer, of course, to the infinite complaining about the iPhone, which I just can’t escape.

“I didn’t know you couldn’t change out teh battery!”
“You can’t install 3rd party apps??”*
“Apple won’t support my hacked iPhone!”
“They dropped the price $200 after I let my children go hungry to buy this thing!”

Please. Shut up about it. Please. (Particularly you last cases. What were you thinking?)

In fact, if you hate your iPhones so much, I’ll take a couple off your hands free of charge. 8GB please, and preferable with the warranty still in service.

Because, yes, I want one. I can’t afford one, but I still want it. The reasons I want it are pretty sad too.

All I want is a phone that I can put my address book on without it being an exercise in frustration. One that won’t take two dozen pictures of the inside of my pocket. One that, if it must have a camera, will let me get pictures off without charging me for it. One with an off switch. One that actually rings when I am getting a call, and tells me when I’ve missed one instead of pretending it didn’t happen.

This is all I want out of the iPhone, (everything else is a bonus) and it’s a sad, sad reflection on what cell phones are like that I’m almost willing to spend $400 just to get it. I’m as tired of wrestling with my cell phone as I was of wrestling with Windows XP 18 months ago.

* I am sympathetic to the desire for 3rd party apps on the iPhone, I have decided opinions on this issue, but you did know what Apple’s stance was before you plunked down your 600 smackers, whining about it now does nothing useful.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Wailing, Moaning, and Gnashing of Teeth.

  1. babychaos says:

    Doesn’t that piss you off though? The 3rd party thing is exactly why I wouldn’t buy one. It goes against everything I believe about freedom of choice. Some software is better than others, I like to choose the best bits.

    And what’s the point of being the main protagonist on team World versus Microsoft if you just turn into Microsoft with a bit more cred and give your customers the same shit?

    And the saddest thing, the reason it pisses me off, is because it means this beautiful, well designed, intuitive piece of equipment is fatally flawed and useless to me. So I can’t have one…

    Bugger!

    Cheers

    BC

  2. GeekLady says:

    I don’t believe for a minute that the iPhone will be permenantly 3rd party application free. I do think they’re not willing to commit to a SDK yet because the OS is changing too much.

    I still have zero sympathy for the people knew anyway, bought one, and are still whining.

  3. babychaos says:

    Yeh, I do hear you there, after all, I may be whining but I HAVEN’T bought one! 😉 Go in to life with your eyes open etc etc..

    Cheers

    BC

  4. Pingback: Oh how I love being Right. « Geek. Lady.

Leave a Reply

