I was sexy a century ago.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art is under renovation, and sent a bunch of pieces by the French Masters out on tour. They’re in the Houston Museum of Fine Arts now through some time in May, and I highly recommend the exhibit. That is, if you can tolerate annoying old women who stand with their noses two inches from each painting, inspecting each brush stroke for authenticity.

Works of the French Masters from ~1800-1917. There were a not insignificant number of nudes. And while I was looking at these paintings, from classical births of Venus to naked chicks with parrots, I realized something…

All these painted women have the same body type as me. The chunky-ish thighs. The butt dimples. The high but reasonably pronounced waist. The flabby tummy. It’s all there. I wan’t alone in noticing – The Husband noticed it too.

I’m not really sure how I feel about that. The Husband thinks, and is very insistant that, I’m beautiful. And, well, I try not to argue with him about it. I just don’t think of myself as beautiful. And I don’t really care. All in all, I’m very comfortable in my skin. Comfortable with butt dimples, and tummy flab, and calfs that are too muscular to wear any of the really sexy knee high boots because they’re built for chicken legs. I’ve worn glasses for the last twenty years, and I refuse to get contacts, because I happen to like the way I look wearing them. Despite my residual discomfort over the 10 remaining pounds of baby fat and grief induced cookie fat, I’m comfortable as me.

But I’m oddly uncomfortable knowing that my shape was once the epitome of sex appeal.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I was sexy a century ago.

  1. thordora says:

    Sigh…tell me about it….We should be lush examples of fertility and womanhood….

  2. GeekLady says:

    Pfft, I don’t let it bother me normally. It only really gets to me when I’m trying to shop or wear clothing nicer or prettier than a pair of jeans and an oversized tee.

    In World of Warcraft, I loved my troll mage best. I thought she was pretty thin, but when they brought out the blood elf chicks, I realized how chunky she really was. I still love her best because she looks like me. Even with these stubborn 10 pounds, I could paint my body blue, put my hair in a topknot and add some fake fangs and be her for Halloween.

  3. thordora says:

    I hate buying pants. Always guaranteed to turn me into a weepy 13 year old who pounds on her belly with futility.

    mmmm trolls….I miss playing D&D, but I don’t dare get into WoW. I’ll never see the kids. 🙂

  4. babychaos says:

    Aw those bloody boots! I am with you and yes, until the stupid no tits twenties and Twiggie in the 60s people like us WERE considered sexy. Then again, there was no “this is what women should look like” thing going on, artists painted what they saw and that was normal women, who looked like us, so there was only a “this is what women DO look like” scenario and men were quite happy to find it sexy!

    Cheers

    B~C

Leave a Reply

