7 Quick Takes – Anathemata Edition

1. I have submitted, and rediscovered/rejoined/etc. Facebook. I resisted for a long time, but I just couldn’t resist the lure of being friends with Melanie because she puts up the best and most interesting links and I wanted to comment on them.
For an introvert, Melanie is amazing at connecting people who might otherwise have never encountered each other. I’ve met Lissla Lissar and the Sewing PhD (who is actually liturgically related! Our sons share a godfather, which is amazing and awesome.) And a handful of other lovely people who I don’t know if they blog. I’ve become better acquainted with other bloggers I’ve read for a long time. It’s incredible and fun and before I knew it I didn’t actually hate FaceBook anymore. It’s even useful, as it’s easy to drop a quick anecdote there for archival purposes and Quick Takes referencing.

The downside is I have to live with Himself laughing at me for doing such an abrupt 180° on the subject.

2. Last Friday, I had the following conversation:

David: “there’s a dead ent on the floor”
Me: “…wha??”
David: “there’s a dead ENT on the floor!”
Me: (now very perplexed) “how did any ent get in our living room?”
David: “a dead END, Mommy!”

Adorable and funny child interaction! I dropped it into Facebook for archiving. This blurb spawned a 500+ long, entirely amicable, ongoing comment thread. I’m not sure such a thing has every before been seen on the internet. After some hundred odd comments we came full circle back to Tolkien with this magnificent exchange:

Sewing PhD: “The geekery goes on and on…”
Me: “Off topic from the post where it began”

Facebook. A time sink, but has unexpected joys. In my defense, we making a 7 hour drive to the valley to visit los suegros and I was pretty bored.

3. While we were in the valley, we went to South Padre Island. For the moment, I’m not going to dwell on the irritation of purchasing an emergency swim suit for this trip. Because I went to the beach and I swam in the ocean, out to the second of South Padre’s three sand bars. And it felt wonderful. I had forgotten how much I enjoyed swimming as exercise.

So now I’m inspired to find a place to swim for fitness. And it’s so depressing how expensive it all is. We don’t even have a neighborhood pool I could use. There aren’t any public pools like College Station’s, only subdivision exclusive pools. And ours doesn’t have one. This is so depressing. Finally, an exercise I honestly enjoy in stretching my physical limits with, and I don’t have/can’t afford access to do it.

4. Check out these marvelous and delightful uncommon dragon hoards that Mad Mo found. I can’t decide which one I like best: The yarn? Or the teacups? Or the pink dragon with the legos? I can’t imaging sleeping on legos would be very comfortable.

5. Speaking of Mad Mo (aka Raphael Danger’s godmother), she now has a blog, featuring Lego Loki doing what Lego Loki does best. Also, there is cake. And romance. And the occasional well deserved comeuppance. You can read about it all at You Must Be This Tall to Take Over the World.

She’s been sending out emails since the Christmas season and now has all of them archivified on the blog. So there’s plenty to read.

6. Wednesday night, I assessed David’s math skill, using my copy of the TEKS standards (on which I’ve blacked out all the educator bullshit.)

Sorry for the cussing. It’s not fair to the bovines. Manure is at least useful.

Anyway. I ran him through a bunch of math, and found out he’s well into mastering first grade math skills. And my dad informs me that, in an attempt to encourage David by explaining the importance of reading, my son responded “Jobs are all about earning money, and money is just math, and I like math.” He does like math, and is good at it. He taught himself fractions in an afternoon with minimal help from me using an iOS game called Slice Fractions.

So I’m giving him his head. I’ve set him up with a Khan Academy account and a child’s user account on the battered old laptop that lives in the kitchen, and I will let him go to town with learning math on his own. I am hoping that, by giving him control over his schooling in an area where he’s interested and capable of some self direction (wow it feels weird typing that about a six year old) that it will help with certain attitude problems that have been cropping up during school time.

It will even do triple duty as extra reading practice and computer lessons.

I don’t know about the rest of Khan Academy’s resources, but the beginning math looks decent. The science isn’t really age appropriate until middle school, bare minimum, and even then it is divided up by subject, so it’s really quadrividium work. I’m just going to have to buckle down and write my own science curricula, nothing I’ve looked at really introduces the young student to the heart of the matter.

7. Last night was D&D night. We continued our Star Wars game. Kira Lassiter continued to provoke statements of “…you just SHOT him!?” (Don’t worry, he was a bad guy.) Also, we ran over a Sith at 120 mph in a land speeder. This didn’t really end well for us, but was epic all the same.

For more Quick Takes, join Jennifer @ Conversion Diary!

5 responses to “7 Quick Takes – Anathemata Edition

  • melaniebett

    Facebook is a terrible time sink and I waste far too much time on it. And it’s a vicious cycle. I’m too tired to do anything constructive like read or write so I get sucked into Facebook and stay up too late. And then am too tired to do anything else. But I do love the company. I can’t quite bring myself to give it up for that reason. So I tell myself I just need to learn moderation. But you know self control is harder when you are tired….

    I’m glad you are on Facebook, though. It’s such fun having you around.

  • Megan

    1. Yes, come to the Facebook dark side! Mwahaha!

    5. “You must be this tall to take over the world” is possibly the best blog title ever.

    7. If you’re ever in Ohio feel free to come for RPGs and cookies. I have no idea how to play RPGs, but I’ll provide cookies to distract you from my lack of skill.

    • GeekLady

      If we ever find ourselves in Ohio, we certainly will.

      RPGs are essentially improv with dice to tell you whether what you attempt works or not. We usually stay on the silly side of things.

  • Literacy-chic

    Yay! Glad you joined/rejoined Facebook, and glad to be a part of your crowd. :) I *am* SewingPhD. I am more widely known as Literacy-chic! That’s where I write about Tolkien. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

