7 Quick Takes – Return of Misc. Edition

1. I'm not exactly on bed rest. But the general pain caused by ordinary, gentle walking around has become so much for me that I've imposed “sit quietly and don't move around unnecessarily” on myself.

…The inactivity is driving me up the wall crazy.

2. I did spend an hour or so in the pool last weekend at my first goddaughter's birthday party. The water was really cold, and the day wasn't quite hot enough to make such cold water enjoyable. But you know kids – they'll swim till they're blue in the face and shivering and still complain when you haul them out to prevent hypothermia. But GeekBaby wanted to go in, and someone had to go with him. And it actually felt pretty good if you eased in relatively gently. I was one of the only adults in the pool though, which meant I was also playing chaperone/life guard to ~20 six year olds. Fortunately I'm especially buoyant at the moment.

The next day, I had almost no pelvic pain at all. Getting all that weight off my pelvis for a little while worked wonders. Clearly, next pregnancy, I need steady access to about 4 feet of water.

3. To combat the sitting still crazies, I've started my postpartum knitting project early… and am ripping along so well that I'm beginning to worry I won't have any of it left for actual postpartum.

A Cardigan for Arwen has been sitting in my Ravelry projects queue for four and a half years now. Isn't it lovely? But I've never knit a sweater, and so was hesitant to start it. Also there were reasonable concerns over whether I would ever finish it – I'm not known for finishing projects. But now I think it's time.

I'm knitting it from KnitPicks Wool of the Andes in Noble Heather, which is a lovely shadowy evergreen shade heathered with silver and charcoal. The combination of the tight little cables and the lovely green make Eowyn a more appropriate name for this cardi, but someone has already foolishly (and in defiance of all heraldry) scooped up that name with their variation containing a cabled tree of Gondor on the back panel. *sigh*

There may be a lot of knitting blogging appearing here soon.

4. The felted yarn join is a thing of almost perfect beauty.

5. So… boy names. We've pretty much settled on Rafael (which has a nice symmetry with NinjaBaby!) but we're stuck on middle names now. Himself has vetoed Danger and any variation of names that produces J.R.R. (spoilsport), so I'm stuck. Place your suggestions in the comments.

(Don't suggest Angel, it's already been vetoed. Long story.)

6. I've finally worked out an extremely reliable and safe vigil lamp wick-holding system. We started with cork floats, but those have a disturbing tendency toward indiscretion (i.e. they eventually catch fire). Then we moved to a wire that hooked over the edges of the glass and held the wick at a steady level. In this set up, the cotton string we were using for a wick didn't carry the oil far enough for a stationary wick holder, so we switched to 1 ply cotton mop string. This worked very well. Too well. The wire coil we used to keep the flame sequestered from the rest of the wick collected carbon and oil in its grooves and tended towards indiscretions as well.

What works: 3/16th of an inch diameter brass craft tubing. Clip off a piece about half an inch long, and twist some brass wire around that little tube tightly enough to hold it in place. Run those twists long enough to hook over the edge of your glass and thread a piece of oil soaked wicking up through it so a quarter of an inch shows at the top. Fill the glass with oil until just below the bottom of the brass tube.

I find this setup burns long and well with a small, steady flame. If it burns too long without attention, it just goes out, either from lack of oil or from needing the wick trimmed. The wire near the glass never gets so hot that I can't pick it up with my bare fingers to adjust the wick, although I wouldn't tough the brass tubing itself and use a pair of tweezers to slide the wick up from the bottom. And it doesn't require frequent cleaning, like the coil of wire did.

7. Two weeks from now, I will have a new baby. Wow.

But for now, I have to go run errands. Four years ago I loaned my 0-3 month boy clothes to a coworker of Himself's who had a boy when she was expecting a girl. I've been trying to retrieve them for three years now. That I kind of need them back now does not influence her one little bit. Thus you find me, nine months and not pleased to be walking, headed to the Carter's outlet armed with a 25% off coupon… and maybe a purse flask.

…I loath shopping.

For more quick takes, visit Jen @ Conversion Diary.

Update: that trip to the Carter's outlet was a waste of gas. How can they have NO 3 month onesies? Also, lady when I say 3 month, I'm aware they're for 8-12 pound babies. David was 9 when he was born and I have no reason to believe this one is any smaller. So I'm using my coupon online instead.

Also, I could take Jen, Calah, Grace and all other comers in a complainathon. Just because I (usually) don't swear (online) doesn't mean I can't. >:-)

12 responses to “7 Quick Takes – Return of Misc. Edition

  • Foxfier

    The next day, I had almost no pelvic pain at all. Getting all that weight off my pelvis for a little while worked wonders. Clearly, next pregnancy, I need steady access to about 4 feet of water.

    If you can stand it, put your pillows under your hips; it worked for me, although mine was more pressure than pain.

    • GeekLady

      :-) I’m already sleeping in a recliner, thanks to persistent heartburn. I don’t think I could twist my body enough for this.

      It’s not really pelvic pain, so much as severe strain on the lower ab muscles trying to support my belly combined with softening of the pubic symphysis. I have some exercises to strengthen a set of transverse muscles the name of which escapes me, but so far they’re only preventing it from getting from getting worse.

      The result is I can walk (slowly), but the tallest step I can manage easily is a curb. The stairs at home are rough, bus steps are horrible, and rolling over in the night wakes me up fully.

  • JoAnna

    Rafael Christopher (after Tolkien’s son)

    Rafael Samwise ;)

  • Megan

    John. (‘Cause St. Joan of Arc.)

    Um…I am bad at middle names. Got any relatives?

  • Megan

    Francis. Benedict.

    (‘Cause you can never go wrong with Popes.)

  • Melanie B

    re #5. Dom’s cousin has a son whose middle name is Danger. Nick Danger. Her other son’s name is Johnny Uptown.

    • GeekLady

      *Sigh*. Mad Mo’s husband talked me out of it when I enquired whether canonical naming obligations would object to a little bit of fun.

      Mike would never have gone for it anyway. Which is too bad, Rafael Danger Salazar would have been a great name.

  • Melanie B

    I wish I could send you baby boy clothes, but I gave all mine to my sister-in-law. And even though her son is nine months old, she just announced she’s expecting #8.

    • GeekLady

      And three years later you’d be in the same position I’m in now. I’m so terrible at mailing things. :-)
      I’m not mad at her for being forgetful though, I’m mad at her for completely ignoring me.

  • flycat

    Target has tons of stuff in 0-3 months. Typically its pretty affordable to boot.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

