Patron Saint of Gamers

Today is the feast day of one of our family’s patrons, Saint Aloysius Gonzaga, who ought to be (and, as far as I’m concerned, is) the patron of gamers.

The story goes that one day, as Aloysius was playing chess with some seminarians, the question was posed “What would you do if you knew you had only one hour to live?” Aloysius’s answer was that, as he had permission from his superiors to play this game of chess and no other pressing duties, clearly this game was God’s will for him at the moment.

I love this story, even though it’s unsourced. Although his reasoning is so terribly Jesuit-ish, it sounds like it comes straight from the lips of a gaming nerd. But it also focuses straight in on the really hard part of being a Christian, which is understanding and living out God’s will in our lives.

Just a brief one today, folks. I have my first OB appointment this afternoon at 3:30, and am busy either 1) fretting myself to little tiny pieces, or 2) cleaning every surface of my kitchen that I can get at without moving heavy appliances. Or both. I’m so tense I can’t stand it.

One response to “Patron Saint of Gamers

  • melaniebett

    I love this story. It reminds me very much of He Leadeth Me, a book I just finished by another Jesuit priest. Same idea in that discerning God’s will isn’t a huge mystery. Rather it presents itself to us in the concrete circumstances that confront us each day.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

